Deutsch
Deutschland
Anmelden
Tipp von eurobuch.com
Ähnliche Bücher
Weitere, andere Bücher, die diesem Buch sehr ähnlich sein könnten:
Buch verkaufen
Anbieter, die das Buch mit der ISBN 9781584651352 ankaufen:
Suchtools
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 3,27 €, größter Preis: 22,55 €, Mittelwert: 11,30 €
Leaving Pico
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Leaving Pico - neues Buch

ISBN: 9781584651352

ID: 17948045

In the tradition of Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima or Leslie Marmon Silko's Ceremony, poet Frank X. Gaspar has crafted a beautifully written coming-of-age-in-ethnic-America novel set in the Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts. For narrator Josie Carvalho, a single summer brings great loss and abrupt change, but also a new understanding of his place in the world. In the insular In the tradition of Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima or Leslie Marmon Silko's Ceremony, poet Frank X. Gaspar has crafted a beautifully written coming-of-age-in-ethnic-America novel set in the Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts. For narrator Josie Carvalho, a single summer brings great loss and abrupt change, but also a new understanding of his place in the world. In the insular Portuguese fishing community of the Cape, Josie's life has been shaped by the annual influx of summer tourists (who are largely oblivious of the locals), and his great aunt Theophila's fervent if idiosyncratic Catholicism (she has visions and keeps a private shrine to the saints). The community is also sharply divided between the Picos like himself (whose ancestors hailed from the Azores) and the Lisbons (whose forebears came directly from the old country). The counterweight to these forces has been the boy's relationship with his grandfather John Joseph, a drunk, clam-poaching old man who is nevertheless a sly and tricksterish master storyteller. Josie's shaky religious faith receives a jolt when he prays that his unwed mother might find a husband, and a stranger named Carmine arrives from New Bedford and begins to call on her. His mother's relationship with the Lisbon Carmine soon disrupts the family's equilibrium and throws their lives into conflict. Josie finds himself divided in his loyalties and upset over what he fears is his responsibility for the trouble. His grandfather comes to his aid with a healing narrative, a magical act of storytelling that lifts him out of the present and into a heroic past. Over a series of nights, John Joseph, Scheherazade-like, spins the colorful and adventurous story of their ancestor, Francisco Carvalho, a Portuguese explorer who just may have beaten Columbus to the New World. With the guidance of his grandfather's obscure but inspired stories, Josie begins to find new ways of understanding his relationship to his family and to the w. Books, Fiction~~Modern & Contemporary, Leaving Pico~~Book~~9781584651352~~Gaspar, , , , , , , , , ,, [PU: University Press of New England]

Neues Buch Hive.co.uk
MPN: , SKU 17948045 Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Leaving Pico - Gaspar, Frank X.
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Gaspar, Frank X.:
Leaving Pico - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 9781584651352

ID: 7174804

In the tradition of Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima or Leslie Marmon Silko's Ceremony, poet Frank X. Gaspar has crafted a beautifully written coming-of-age-in-ethnic-America novel set in the Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts. For narrator Josie Carvalho, a single summer brings great loss and abrupt change, but also a new understanding of his place in the world. In the insular Portuguese fishing community of the Cape, Josie's life has been shaped by the annual influx of summer tourists (who are largely oblivious of the locals), and his great aunt Theophila's fervent if idiosyncratic Catholicism (she has visions and keeps a private shrine to the saints). The community is also sharply divided between the Picos like himself (whose ancestors hailed from the Azores) and the Lisbons (whose forebears came directly from the old country). The counterweight to these forces has been the boy's relationship with his grandfather John Joseph, a drunk, clam-poaching old man who is nevertheless a sly and tricksterish master storyteller. Josie's shaky religious faith receives a jolt when he prays that his unwed mother might find a husband, and a stranger named Carmine arrives from New Bedford and begins to call on her. His mother's relationship with the Lisbon Carmine soon disrupts the family's equilibrium and throws their lives into conflict. Josie finds himself divided in his loyalties and upset over what he fears is his responsibility for the trouble. His grandfather comes to his aid with a healing narrative, a magical act of storytelling that lifts him out of the present and into a heroic past. Over a series of nights, John Joseph, Scheherazade-like, spins the colorful and adventurous story of their ancestor, Francisco Carvalho, a Portuguese explorer who just may have beaten Columbus to the New World. With the guidance of his grandfather's obscure but inspired stories, Josie begins to find new ways of understanding his relationship to his family and to the world. Leaving Pico Gaspar, Frank X., University Press of New England

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Betterworldbooks.com
Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Leaving Pico (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) - Frank X. Gaspar
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Frank X. Gaspar:
Leaving Pico (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 1584651350

ID: 4281657

In the tradition of Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima or Leslie Marmon Silko's Ceremony, poet Frank X. Gaspar has crafted a beautifully written coming-of-age-in-ethnic-America novel set in the Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts. For narrator Josie Carvalho, a single summer brings great loss and abrupt change, but also a new understanding of his place in the world.In the insular Portuguese fishing community of the Cape, Josie's life has been shaped by the annual influx of summer tourists (who are largely oblivious of the locals), and his great aunt Theophila's fervent if idiosyncratic Catholicism (she has visions and keeps a private shrine to the saints). The community is also sharply divided between the Picos like himself (whose ancestors hailed from the Azores) and the Lisbons (whose forebears came directly from the old country). The counterweight to these forces has been the boy's relationship with his grandfather John Joseph, a drunk, clam-poaching old man who is nevertheless a sly and tricksterish master storyteller.Josie's shaky religious faith receives a jolt when he prays that his unwed mother might find a husband, and a stranger named Carmine arrives from New Bedford and begins to call on her. His mother's relationship with the Lisbon Carmine soon disrupts the family's equilibrium and throws their lives into conflict. Josie finds himself divided in his loyalties and upset over what he fears is his responsibility for the trouble.

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Thriftbooks.com
used Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Leaving Pico (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) - Frank X. Gaspar
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Frank X. Gaspar:
Leaving Pico (Hardscrabble Books-Fiction of New England) - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 1584651350

ID: 4281657

In the tradition of Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima or Leslie Marmon Silko's Ceremony, poet Frank X. Gaspar has crafted a beautifully written coming-of-age-in-ethnic-America novel set in the Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts. For narrator Josie Carvalho, a single summer brings great loss and abrupt change, but also a new understanding of his place in the world.In the insular Portuguese fishing community of the Cape, Josie's life has been shaped by the annual influx of summer tourists (who are largely oblivious of the locals), and his great aunt Theophila's fervent if idiosyncratic Catholicism (she has visions and keeps a private shrine to the saints). The community is also sharply divided between the Picos like himself (whose ancestors hailed from the Azores) and the Lisbons (whose forebears came directly from the old country). The counterweight to these forces has been the boy's relationship with his grandfather John Joseph, a drunk, clam-poaching old man who is nevertheless a sly and tricksterish master storyteller.Josie's shaky religious faith receives a jolt when he prays that his unwed mother might find a husband, and a stranger named Carmine arrives from New Bedford and begins to call on her. His mother's relationship with the Lisbon Carmine soon disrupts the family's equilibrium and throws their lives into conflict. Josie finds himself divided in his loyalties and upset over what he fears is his responsibility for the trouble.

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Thriftbooks.com
used Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Leaving Pico - GASPAR
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
GASPAR:
Leaving Pico - Taschenbuch

1999, ISBN: 9781584651352

ID: 3101586

Softcover, Buch, [PU: University Press of New England]

Neues Buch Lehmanns.de
Versandkosten:Versand in 15-20 Tagen, , Sin costos de envío dentro de Alemania (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

Details zum Buch
Leaving Pico
Autor:
Titel:
ISBN-Nummer:

Set in the vibrant Portuguese community of Cape Cod, a compelling story of a young man's coming-of-age.

Detailangaben zum Buch - Leaving Pico


EAN (ISBN-13): 9781584651352
ISBN (ISBN-10): 1584651350
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2001
Herausgeber: UNIV PR OF NEW ENGLAND
211 Seiten
Gewicht: 0,281 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 04.06.2009 13:44:17
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 13.05.2017 19:20:14
ISBN/EAN: 9781584651352

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
1-58465-135-0, 978-1-58465-135-2


< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher