Deutsch
Deutschland
Anmelden
Tipp von eurobuch.com
Ähnliche Bücher
Weitere, andere Bücher, die diesem Buch sehr ähnlich sein könnten:
Buch verkaufen
Anbieter, die das Buch mit der ISBN 9780553383102 ankaufen:
Suchtools
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 1,69 €, größter Preis: 19,99 €, Mittelwert: 9,10 €
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

[SR: 137138], Paperback, [EAN: 9780553383102], Bantam, Bantam, Book, [PU: Bantam], 2006-12-26, Bantam, In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems….Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city’s caliph, or spiritual leader.With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir’s fantasy–until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph’s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home.Fro, 12051, Travel, 12015, Writing, 5267707011, Writing, Research & Publishing Guides, 21, Reference, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16742, Morocco, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16730, General, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17215, Family Travel, 17205, Specialty Travel, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17029, Travel Writing, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Amazon.com
worldreaders
Sammlerstück. Versandkosten:Usually ships in 1-2 business days., zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

[SR: 137138], Paperback, [EAN: 9780553383102], Bantam, Bantam, Book, [PU: Bantam], 2006-12-26, Bantam, In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems….Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city’s caliph, or spiritual leader.With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir’s fantasy–until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph’s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home.Fro, 12051, Travel, 12015, Writing, 5267707011, Writing, Research & Publishing Guides, 21, Reference, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16742, Morocco, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16730, General, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17215, Family Travel, 17205, Specialty Travel, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17029, Travel Writing, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Amazon.com
Goodwill NWNC
Gebraucht. Versandkosten:Usually ships in 1-2 business days., zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

[SR: 137138], Paperback, [EAN: 9780553383102], Bantam, Bantam, Book, [PU: Bantam], 2006-12-26, Bantam, In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems….Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city’s caliph, or spiritual leader.With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir’s fantasy–until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph’s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home.Fro, 12051, Travel, 12015, Writing, 5267707011, Writing, Research & Publishing Guides, 21, Reference, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16742, Morocco, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16730, General, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17215, Family Travel, 17205, Specialty Travel, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17029, Travel Writing, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books

Neues Buch Amazon.com
swati21
Neuware. Versandkosten:Usually ships in 1-2 business days., zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Shah, Tahir
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Shah, Tahir:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 9780553383102

ID: 1038144439

Bantam. PAPERBACK. 0553383108 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Thank you for supporting our small, family-owned business! . New., Bantam

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Biblio.com
M and N Media
Versandkosten: EUR 3.38
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

ID: 22404148252

[EAN: 9780553383102], Used, good, [PU: Bantam], TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. General. Book: USED, Good. Bookseller Inventory # 07978055338310204

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Abebooks.com
Powell's Books, Portland, OR, U.S.A. [9859] [Rating: 5 (of 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK. Versandkosten: EUR 4.49
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

Details zum Buch
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca

By turns hilarious and harrowing, this work by an acclaimed English travel writer is the story of his family's move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge--and nothing is as easy as it seems.

Detailangaben zum Buch - The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780553383102
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0553383108
Gebundene Ausgabe
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2006
Herausgeber: BANTAM DELL
349 Seiten
Gewicht: 0,404 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 13.06.2007 00:25:13
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 07.12.2017 22:06:03
ISBN/EAN: 9780553383102

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
0-553-38310-8, 978-0-553-38310-2


< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher