. .
Deutsch
Deutschland
Ähnliche Bücher
Weitere, andere Bücher, die diesem Buch sehr ähnlich sein könnten:
Buch verkaufen
Anbieter, die das Buch mit der ISBN 9780553383102 ankaufen:
Suchtools
Anmelden

Anmelden mit Facebook:

Registrieren
Passwort vergessen?


Such-Historie
Merkliste
Links zu eurobuch.com

Dieses Buch teilen auf…
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
Tipp von eurobuch.com
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 1,23 €, größter Preis: 14,73 €, Mittelwert: 5,46 €
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

[SR: 55098], Paperback, [EAN: 9780553383102], Bantam, Bantam, Book, [PU: Bantam], 2006-12-26, Bantam, In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems….Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city’s caliph, or spiritual leader.With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir’s fantasy–until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph’s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home.Fro, 12051, Travel, 12015, Writing, 5267707011, Writing, Research & Publishing Guides, 21, Reference, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16742, Morocco, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16730, General, 16703, Africa, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17215, Family Travel, 17205, Specialty Travel, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 17029, Travel Writing, 27, Travel, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Amazon.com
Goodwill Industries - Big Bend, Inc.
Gebraucht Versandkosten:Usually ships in 1-2 business days, zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Shah, Tahir
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Shah, Tahir:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

ID: 19459176747

[EAN: 9780553383102], Gebraucht, wie neu, [PU: Bantam Books], HUMOR COMEDY MOROCCO ISLAMIC WORLD FAMILY, Biography & Autobiography|Literary, Travel|Africa|General, Travel|Essays & Travelogues, Trade Paperback in Near Fine Condition. Former owner name on first page, else Fine. Bright, clean, unmarked wrappers; tight glued binding; internals as new. A humorous and entertaining story of the author and his family moving from "foggy London to sunny Casablanca" and into a totally different culture. 349 pages with Glossary. 8.25 x 5.5 inches. 2006, Bantam Books, USA

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Abebooks.de
The Parnassus BookShop, Newport, WA, U.S.A. [4673766] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Versandkosten: EUR 29.93
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Shah, Tahir
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Shah, Tahir:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 0553383108

ID: 20971504093

[EAN: 9780553383102], Gebraucht, [PU: Bantam], Biography & Autobiography|Literary, Travel|Africa|General, Travel|Essays & Travelogues, 0553383108 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US.

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Abebooks.de
M and N Media, Acworth, GA, U.S.A. [55973276] [Rating: 3 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Versandkosten: EUR 23.34
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Shah, Tahir
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Shah, Tahir:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 9780553383102

ID: 967091920

Bantam, 2006. Trade Paperback. Good. Softcover. Sound & good copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps, remainder dot., Bantam, 2006

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Biblio.com
The Book Women
Versandkosten: EUR 14.74
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Shah, Tahir
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Shah, Tahir:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 9780553383102

ID: 551213670

Paperback. Good.

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Biblio.com
World of Books Ltd
Versandkosten: EUR 4.73
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

Details zum Buch
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca
Autor:

Shah, Tahir

Titel:

The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca

ISBN-Nummer:

By turns hilarious and harrowing, this work by an acclaimed English travel writer is the story of his family's move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge--and nothing is as easy as it seems.

Detailangaben zum Buch - The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780553383102
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0553383108
Gebundene Ausgabe
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2006
Herausgeber: BANTAM DELL
349 Seiten
Gewicht: 0,404 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 13.06.2007 00:25:13
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 10.06.2017 10:26:27
ISBN/EAN: 9780553383102

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
0-553-38310-8, 978-0-553-38310-2


< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher