. .
Deutsch
Deutschland
Ähnliche Bücher
Weitere, andere Bücher, die diesem Buch sehr ähnlich sein könnten:
Suchtools
Anmelden

Anmelden mit Facebook:

Registrieren
Passwort vergessen?


Such-Historie
Merkliste
Links zu eurobuch.com

Dieses Buch teilen auf…
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
Tipp von eurobuch.com
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 1,01 €, größter Preis: 14,40 €, Mittelwert: 6,80 €
The Tender Bar - J. R. Moehringer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
J. R. Moehringer:

The Tender Bar - neues Buch

2005, ISBN: 9780786888764

ID: 61fe2ef8457d76cd3ea6cfbab91f29ea

A Memoir The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club , a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality. In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys. Bücher / Fremdsprachige Bücher / Englische Bücher / Sach- & Fachbücher / Biografien & Erinnerungen 978-0-7868-8876-4, Hachette Book Group USA

Neues Buch Buch.de
Nr. 11552369 Versandkosten:Bücher und alle Bestellungen die ein Buch enthalten sind versandkostenfrei, sonstige Bestellungen innerhalb Deutschland EUR 3,-, ab EUR 20,- kostenlos, Bürobedarf EUR 4,50, kostenlos ab EUR 45,-, Sofort lieferbar, DE. (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Tender Bar - J. R. Moehringer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)

J. R. Moehringer:

The Tender Bar - neues Buch

2005, ISBN: 9780786888764

ID: 111940307

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy´s Life and The Liar´s Club , a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.´s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.´s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality. In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it´s also a moving portrait of one boy´s struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys. A Memoir Buch (fremdspr.) Bücher>Fremdsprachige Bücher>Englische Bücher>Sach- & Fachbücher>Biografien & Erinnerungen, Hachette Book Group USA

Neues Buch Thalia.de
No. 11552369 Versandkosten:, Sofort lieferbar, DE (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Tender Bar: A Memoir - J. R. Moehringer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
J. R. Moehringer:
The Tender Bar: A Memoir - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 0786888768

ID: 2950539

Long before it legally served me, the bar saved me," asserts J.R. Moehringer, and his compelling memoir The Tender Bar is the story of how and why. A Pulitzer-Prize winning writer for the Los Angeles Times, Moehringer grew up fatherless in pub-heavy Manhasset, New York, in a ramshackle house crammed with cousins and ruled by an eccentric, unkind grandfather. Desperate for a paternal figure, he turns first to his father, a DJ whom he can only access via the radio (Moehringer calls him The Voice and pictures him as "talking smoke"). When The Voice suddenly disappears from the airwaves, Moehringer turns to his hairless Uncle Charlie, and subsequently, Uncle Charlie's place of employment--a bar called Dickens that soon takes center stage. While Moehringer may occasionally resort to an overwrought metaphor (the footsteps of his family sound like "storm troopers on stilts"), his writing moves at a quick clip and his tale of a dysfunctional but tightly knit community is warmly told. "While I fear that we're drawn to what abandons us, and to what seems most likely to abandon us, in the end I believe we're defined by what embraces us," Moehringer says, and his story makes us believe it. --Brangien Davis arts and literature,authors,biographical,biographies,biographies and history,biography and history,contemporary,culinary,journalists,literature and fiction Travel, Hachette Books

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Thriftbooks.com
used Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Tender Bar: a Memoir - Moehringer, J. R.
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Moehringer, J. R.:
The Tender Bar: a Memoir - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 9780786888764

ID: 13817143827

Softcover, Gebraucht, guter Zustand, Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Second City Books-the first place to look for second hand books., [PU: Hachette Books]

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Alibris.com
Second City Books
Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Tender Bar: A Memoir - Moehringer, J. R.
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Moehringer, J. R.:
The Tender Bar: A Memoir - Taschenbuch

2006, ISBN: 9780786888764

, Taschenbuch, [PU: Hachette Books], [SC: 1.43

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Buchmarie.de
Buchmarie.de
Gebraucht, Gut Versandkosten:sofort (EUR 1.43)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

< zum Suchergebnis...
Details zum Buch
The Tender Bar
Autor:

Moehringer, J. R.

Titel:

The Tender Bar

ISBN-Nummer:

0786888768

Torn between the feminine comfort of his mother and the masculine camaraderie he finds in a series of bars and taverns, Moehringer details his difficult but loving upbringing.

Detailangaben zum Buch - The Tender Bar


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780786888764
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0786888768
Gebundene Ausgabe
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2006
Herausgeber: Harper Collins USA
416 Seiten
Gewicht: 0,362 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 30.05.2007 19:40:56
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 12.02.2017 19:33:48
ISBN/EAN: 0786888768

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
0-7868-8876-8, 978-0-7868-8876-4

< zum Suchergebnis...
< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher