. .
Deutsch
Deutschland
Ähnliche Bücher
Buch verkaufen
Anbieter, die das Buch mit der ISBN 0571220223 ankaufen:
Suchtools
Anmelden

Anmelden mit Facebook:

Registrieren
Passwort vergessen?


Such-Historie
Merkliste
Links zu eurobuch.com

Dieses Buch teilen auf…
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
Tipp von eurobuch.com
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 0,96 €, größter Preis: 9,48 €, Mittelwert: 3,91 €
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Andrew Sean Greer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Andrew Sean Greer:
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 0571220223

[SR: 459586], Taschenbuch, [EAN: 9780571220229], Faber & Faber, Faber & Faber, Book, [PU: Faber & Faber], Faber & Faber, Out of the womb in 1871, Max Tivoli looked to all the world like a tiny 70-year-old man. But inside the aged body was an infant. Victim of a rare disease, Max grows physically younger as his mind matures. In Andrew Sean Greer's finely crafted novel, The Confessions of Max Tivoli, Max narrates his life story from the vantage point of his late fifties, though his body is that of a 12-year-old boy. He has known since a young age that he is destined to die at 70, and he wears a golden "1941" as a constant reminder of the year he will finally perish in an infant form. His mother, a Carolina belle concerned over her son's troubling appearance, curses Max with "The Rule": "Be what they think you are". Max fails to keep this Rule only a handful of times in his life, but it is the burden of living by it that wounds him and slowly alienates him from the people he loves. Over Max's narration of the preceding decades of his life, he offers outsider's snapshots of San Francisco and all of America across the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Throughout, Greer uses the literary device of reverse aging to interrogate the evolution of social conventions, the finitude of a human life and the decay of memory. Max wants love. But his curse destines him to deception. He loses his wife, Alice, changes his name and remains hidden from his own son to keep his true identity secret. Only his lifelong friend, Hughie, stands by Max and can see the person inside the anachronistic body. Like the best science fiction and myth, the novel uses its central conceit to reveal human prejudice and explode all assumptions of normalcy to profound effect. Love is a destructive force in The Confessions of Max Tivoli. But Greer recognises that in the failure of love is also hope. He artfully captures Max's fragile world with a delicacy that never crosses into sentimentality but also avoids the monumental scale of tragedy. As Max says near the end of the novel, "It is a brave and stupid thing, a beautiful thing to waste ones life for love." A journey with Max, while brave and beautiful, is hardly a waste. --Patrick O'Kelley, Amazon.com, 67221011, Action & Abenteuer, 67216011, Populäre Belletristik, 66034011, Belletristik, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher, 68944011, Spannung, 68938011, Thriller, 68333011, Krimis & Thriller, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher, 58017011, Fantasy, 58040011, Alternative Weltgeschichte, 58018011, Anthologien, 58039011, Arthus-Sage, 384001011, Dark Fantasy, 58020011, Epen, 384229011, Feen & Elfen, 58023011, Geschichte & Kritik, 58022011, Historisch, 58024011, Magie & Zauberer, 58026011, Serien, 58019011, Zeitgenössisch, 57127011, Fantasy & Science Fiction, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher

Neues Buch Amazon.de (Intern...
Bestsellersuk
, Neuware Versandkosten:Innerhalb EU, Schweiz und Liechtenstein (sofern Lieferung möglich). Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Werktagen (EUR 3.00)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Andrew Sean Greer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Andrew Sean Greer:
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 9780571220229

Paperback, [PU: FABER & FABER], Eine ungewöhnliche Liebesgeschichte, die in den USA Furore machte. Max wird im Jahre 1871 geboren. Er leidet an einer seltenen Krankheit. Sein Körper wird jünger, während er im Geiste älter wird. Seine Liebe zur gleichaltrigen Alice scheint damit unerfüllbar. The Confessions of Max Tivoli by Andrew Sean Greer is a haunting tale of love lost, then found, in the least expected ways, set in San Francisco during the turbulent years at the turn of the twentieth century., Contemporary Fiction

Neues Buch Bookdepository.com
Versandkosten:Versandkostenfrei (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Andrew Sean Greer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Andrew Sean Greer:
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Taschenbuch

2005, ISBN: 9780571220229

ID: 899935169

Faber and Faber. Paperback. Used; Good. 04/07/2005, Faber and Faber

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Biblio.com
Brit Books Ltd
Versandkosten: EUR 4.78
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Andrew Sean Greer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Andrew Sean Greer:
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 0571220223

ID: 13477997408

[EAN: 9780571220229], Gebraucht, guter Zustand, 222 Gramm., [PU: Faber]

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Abebooks.de
medimops, Berlin, Germany [55410863] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Versandkosten: EUR 2.00
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Greer, Andrew Sean
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Greer, Andrew Sean:
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 9780571220229

ID: 788627963

Faber & Faber. PAPERBACK. 0571220223 . Good., Faber & Faber

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Biblio.com
S N Books Ltd
Versandkosten: EUR 5.37
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

Details zum Buch
The Confessions of Max Tivoli
Autor:

Greer, Andrew Sean

Titel:

The Confessions of Max Tivoli

ISBN-Nummer:

Strange and moving novel about a boy who begins life with the physical appearance of an old, dying creature but gradually grows younger with age. Set against the backdrop of San Francisco at the turn of the 20th century, this will appeal to fans of "The Lovely Bones" and "The Time Traveller's Wife". A perfect reading group book with broad appeal across literary and commercial readerships. "A brilliant story about the simplest of brief encounters, the encounter with life" "The Times"

Detailangaben zum Buch - The Confessions of Max Tivoli


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780571220229
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0571220223
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2005
Herausgeber: Faber And Faber Ltd.
267 Seiten
Gewicht: 0,210 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 05.06.2007 01:06:55
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 13.04.2017 12:13:47
ISBN/EAN: 0571220223

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
0-571-22022-3, 978-0-571-22022-9


< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher