. .
Deutsch
Deutschland
Ähnliche Bücher
Weitere, andere Bücher, die diesem Buch sehr ähnlich sein könnten:
Suchtools
Anmelden

Anmelden mit Facebook:

Registrieren
Passwort vergessen?


Such-Historie
Merkliste
Links zu eurobuch.com

Dieses Buch teilen auf…
..?
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
Tipp von eurobuch.com
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 2.57 EUR, größter Preis: 6.61 EUR, Mittelwert: 4.28 EUR
The Speed of Dark - Elizabeth Moon
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Elizabeth Moon:

The Speed of Dark - neues Buch

ISBN: 9780345481399

ID: 978034548139

In the near future, disease will be a condition of the past. Most genetic defects will be removed at birth; the remaining during infancy. Unfortunately, there will be a generation left behind. For members of that missed generation, small advances will be made. Through various programs, they will be taught to get along in the world despite their differences. They will be made active and contributing members of society. But they will never be normal.Lou Arrendale is a member of that lost generation, born at the wrong time to reap the awards of medical science. Part of a small group of high-functioning autistic adults, he has a steady job with a pharmaceutical company, a car, friends, and a passion for fencing. Aside from his annual visits to his counselor, he lives a low-key, independent life. He has learned to shake hands and make eye contact. He has taught himself to use “please” and “thank you” and other conventions of conversation because he knows it makes others comfortable. He does his best to be as normal as possible and not to draw attention to himself. But then his quiet life comes under attack. It starts with an experimental treatment that will reverse the effects of autism in adults. With this treatment Lou would think and act and be just like everyone else. But if he was suddenly free of autism, would he still be himself? Would he still love the same classical music–with its complications and resolutions? Would he still see the same colors and patterns in the world–shades and hues that others cannot see? Most importantly, would he still love Marjory, a woman who may never be able to reciprocate his feelings? Would it be easier for her to return the love of a “normal”?There are intense pressures coming from the world around him–including an angry supervisor who wants to cut costs by sacrificing the supports necessary to employ autistic workers. Perhaps even more disturbing are the barrage of questions within himself. For Lou must decide if he should submit to a surgery that might completely change the way he views the world . . . and the very essence of who he is.Thoughtful, provocative, poignant, unforgettable, The Speed of Dark is a gripping exploration into the mind of an autistic person as he struggles with profound questions of humanity and matters of the heart.From the Hardcover edition. Elizabeth Moon, Books, Science Fiction and Fantasy, The Speed of Dark Books>Science Fiction and Fantasy, Random House Publishing Group

Neues Buch Indigo.ca
new Free shipping on orders above $25 Versandkosten:plus shipping costs, zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Speed of Dark
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
The Speed of Dark - neues Buch

ISBN: 9780345481399

ID: 9780345481399

In the near future, disease will be a condition of the past. Most genetic defects will be removed at birth; the remaining during infancy. Unfortunately, there will be a generation left behind. For members of that missed generation, small advances will be made. Through various programs, they will be taught to get along in the world despite their differences. They will be made active and contributing members of society. But they will never be normal. Lou Arrendale is a member of In the near future, disease will be a condition of the past. Most genetic defects will be removed at birth; the remaining during infancy. Unfortunately, there will be a generation left behind. For members of that missed generation, small advances will be made. Through various programs, they will be taught to get along in the world despite their differences. They will be made active and contributing members of society. But they will never be normal. Lou Arrendale is a member of that lost generation, born at the wrong time to reap the awards of medical science. Part of a small group of high-functioning autistic adults, he has a steady job with a pharmaceutical company, a car, friends, and a passion for fencing. Aside from his annual visits to his counselor, he lives a low-key, independent life. He has learned to shake hands and make eye contact. He has taught himself to use "please" and "thank you" and other conventions of conversation because he knows it makes others comfortable. He does his best to be as normal as possible and not to draw attention to himself. But then his quiet life comes under attack. It starts with an experimental treatment that will reverse the effects of autism in adults. With this treatment Lou would think and act and be just like everyone else. But if he was suddenly free of autism, would he still be himself? Would he still love the same classical music-with its complications and resolutions? Would he still see the same colors and patterns in the world-shades and hues that others cannot see? Most importantly, would he still love Marjory, a woman who may never be able to reciprocate his feelings?Would it be easier for her to return the love of a "normal"?There are intense pressures coming from the world around him-including an angry supervisor who wants to cut costs by sacrificing the supports necessary to employ autistic workers. Perhaps even more disturbing Books, Fiction~~Science Fiction~~Hard Science Fiction, Speed-of-Dark~~Elizabeth-Moon, , , , , , , , , , Random House Publishing Group

Neues Buch Barnesandnoble.com
MPN: , SKU 9780345481399 Versandkosten:plus verzendkosten, zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Speed of Dark - Moon, Elizabeth
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Moon, Elizabeth:
The Speed of Dark - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 9780345481399

ID: 1065209

"In the near future, disease will be a condition of the past. Most genetic defects will be removed at birth; the remaining during infancy. Unfortunately, there will be a generation left behind. For members of that missed generation, small advances will be made. Through various programs, they will be taught to get along in the world despite their differences. They will be made active and contributing members of society. But they will never be normal. " Lou Arrendale is a member of that lost generation, born at the wrong time to reap the awards of medical science. Part of a small group of high-functioning autistic adults, he has a steady job with a pharmaceutical company, a car, friends, and a passion for fencing. Aside from his annual visits to his counselor, he lives a low-key, independent life. He has learned to shake hands and make eye contact. He has taught himself to use "please" and "thank you" and other conventions of conversation because he knows it makes others comfortable. He does his best to be as normal as possible and not to draw attention to himself. But then his quiet life comes under attack. It starts with an experimental treatment that will reverse the effects of autism in adults. With this treatment Lou would think and act and "be" just like everyone else. But if he was suddenly free of autism, would he still be himself? Would he still love the same classical music-with its complications and resolutions? Would he still see the same colors and patterns in the world-shades and hues that others cannot see? Most importantly, would he still love Marjory, a woman who may never be able to reciprocate his feelings? Would it be easier for her to return the love of a "normal"? There are intense pressures coming from the world around him-including an angry supervisor who wants to cut costs by sacrificing the supports necessary to employ autistic workers. Perhaps even more disturbing are the barrage of questions within himself. For Lou must decide if he should submit to a surgery that might completely change the way he views the world . . . and the very essence of who he is. Thoughtful, provocative, poignant, unforgettable, "The Speed of Dark" is a gripping exploration into the mind of an autistic person as he struggles with profound questions of humanity and matters of the heart. "From the Hardcover edition." The Speed of Dark Moon, Elizabeth, Del Rey Books

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Betterworldbooks.com
Versandkosten:plus shipping costs, zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Speed of Dark - Elizabeth Moon
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Elizabeth Moon:
The Speed of Dark - gebrauchtes Buch

ISBN: 0345481399

ID: 2946910

Corporate life in early 21st-century America is even more ruthless than it was at the turn of the millennium. Lou Arrendale, well compensated for his remarkable pattern-recognition skills, enjoys his job and expects never to lose it. But he has a new boss, a man who thinks Lou and the others in his building are a liability. Lou and his coworkers are autistic. And the new boss is going to fire Lou and all his coworkers--unless they agree to undergo an experimental new procedure to "cure" them. In The Speed of Dark, Elizabeth Moon has created a powerful, complex, and believable portrayal of a man who varies radically from what is defined as "normal." The author insightfully explores the nature of "normality," identity, choice, responsibility, free will, illness and health, and good and evil. The Speed of Dark is a powerful, moving, illuminating novel in the tradition of Flowers for Algernon, Forrest Gump, and Rain Man . --Cynthia Ward contemporary,high tech,literature and fiction,mystery thriller and suspense,science fiction,science fiction and fantasy,technothrillers,thrillers Thrillers, Del Rey

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Thriftbooks.com
used Versandkosten:zzgl. Versandkosten
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
The Speed of Dark - Moon, Elizabeth
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Moon, Elizabeth:
The Speed of Dark - Taschenbuch

ISBN: 0345481399

ID: 10966669678

[EAN: 9780345481399], Gebraucht, [PU: Del Rey]

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Abebooks.de
Atlanta Book Company, Atlanta, GA, U.S.A. [53553014] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Versandkosten: EUR 4.69
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

< zum Suchergebnis...
Details zum Buch
The Speed of Dark
Autor:

Moon, Elizabeth

Titel:

The Speed of Dark

ISBN-Nummer:

0345481399

Moon's extraordinary, Nebula Award-winning novel is the story of an autistic man who is offered the chance to be "cured" by science. He must decide if he should submit to a surgery that might completely change the way he views the world and the very essence of who he is.

Detailangaben zum Buch - The Speed of Dark


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780345481399
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0345481399
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2005
Herausgeber: DELREY
369 Seiten
Gewicht: 0,191 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 06.06.2007 17:41:31
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 03.11.2016 22:34:21
ISBN/EAN: 0345481399

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
0-345-48139-9, 978-0-345-48139-9

< zum Suchergebnis...
< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher