. .
Deutsch
Deutschland
Ähnliche Bücher
Weitere, andere Bücher, die diesem Buch sehr ähnlich sein könnten:
Suchtools
Anmelden

Anmelden mit Facebook:

Registrieren
Passwort vergessen?


Such-Historie
Merkliste
Links zu eurobuch.com

Dieses Buch teilen auf…
..?
Buchtipps
Aktuelles
Tipp von eurobuch.com
FILTER
- 0 Ergebnisse
Kleinster Preis: 1.99 EUR, größter Preis: 7.99 EUR, Mittelwert: 6.19 EUR
Baker Towers - Jennifer Haigh
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Jennifer Haigh:

Baker Towers - Taschenbuch

2005, ISBN: 9780007150878

ID: 857804643

Harper Collins Publishers, UK, 2005. First Edition. Softcover. New. Available Now. Book Description: Jennifer Haigh's second novel is an intimate portrait of love and family, which will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields. : Stanley Novak is a first-generation Polish immigrant. Seeking a better life, he settles in Bakerton and finds work in the booming local mine. He meets and marries Rose, a shy, beautiful Italian girl. They move to a mine-owned house in an area of town known as Polish Hill, teeming with immigrants from all over Europe, all chasing the American Dream. Five children follow for the Novaks. : The Novak children belong to what will someday be known as the Greatest Generation, but for now, they are just trying to find their identities in a vastly changing world. The five children could not be more different. The eldest, George, avoids signing up but is drafted to the Pacific when America joins the war. He comes home determined to leave Bakerton behind, but finds it much more difficult the second time around. Dorothy is a fragile and naive girl, who finds it hard to cope with her desk job in Washington. Joyce, fiercely intelligent, must hold the family together and remains bitterly aware of the life that she could have had. Sandy, the youngest boy, swans through life with his movie-star looks, never taking responsibility for his actions. And Lucy, the youngest, must find her own path in the shadow of her formidable siblings. : Haigh gives us a beautiful snapshot of a small town - of company houses and union squabbles; the boom and bust of the post-war years; the immigrant neighbourhoods of Swedetown, Little Italy and Polish Hill; the miners, undertakers, soldiers, firemen and housewives who populate the town and bring it to life. : Review: Praise for Jennifer Haigh and her first novel, Mrs Kimble: : 'An elegant, elegiac multigenerational saga...Almost mythic in its ambition, somewhere between Oates and Updike country.' Kirkus Review : 'A truly impressive first novel...a mere summary cannot do justice to this engaging story. Haigh is an astute observer of human nature and every one of her many characters is well-drawn. In her writing and storytelling style, there are echoes of Anne Tyler, one of the greatest exponents of the contemporary American novel. Mrs Kimble is a remarkably assured and imaginative debut.' Irish Examiner : 'A chilling and beautifully written first novel.' Good Housekeeping : 'A clever, admirable novel. The three Mrs Kimbles present the whole gamut of family values gone awry.' Washington Post : 'Beautiful, devastating and complex.' Chicago Tribune : From the Back Cover: Stanley Novak is a first generation Polish immigrant. Seeking a better life, he moves to Bakerton and finds work in the booming local mine. The Novaks move to an area known as Polish Hill, teeming with immigrants from all over Europe, all chasing the American Dream. : Their five children belong to what will someday be known as the Greatest Generation, but for now, they are just trying to find their identities in a vastly changing world. The eldest, George, avoids signing up but is drafted to the Pacific when America joins the war. He comes home determined to avoid the mines and leave Bakerton behind. Dorothy is a fragile and naive girl, who finds it hard to cope with her desk job in Washington. Joyce, fiercely intelligent, must hold the family together and remains bitterly aware of the life that she could have had. Sandy swans through life with his movie-star looks, never taking responsibility for his actions. And Lucy, the youngest, must find her own path in the shadow of her formidable siblings. : Baker Towers is a beautiful snapshot of a small town - of company houses and union squabbles; the boom and bust of the post-war years; the immigrant neighbourhoods of Swedetown, Little Italy and Polish Hill; the miners, undertakers, soldiers, firemen and families who populate the town and bring it vividly to life. : 'An elegant, elegiac multigenerational saga...Almost mythic in its ambition, somewhere between Oates and Updike country, and thoroughly satisfying.' Kirkus Reviews : 'Haigh is an astute observer of human nature...In her writing and storytelling style, there are echoes of Anne Tyler' Irish Examiner Size: 12.9 x 19.7 x 2.4 cm. 334 pages. Quantity Available: 1. Shipped Weight: Under 500 grams. Category: Fiction; Contemporary Fiction; ISBN: 0007150873. ISBN/EAN: 9780007150878. Inventory No: F238-1119. . 9780007150878, Harper Collins Publishers, 2005

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Biblio.com
Cosmo Books
Versandkosten: EUR 4.58
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Baker Towers (Paperback) - Jennifer Haigh
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)

Jennifer Haigh:

Baker Towers (Paperback) - Taschenbuch

2005, ISBN: 0007150873

ID: 3227690128

[EAN: 9780007150878], Neubuch, [PU: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom], Brand New Book with Free Worldwide Delivery. Jennifer Haigh's second novel is an intimate portrait of love and family, which will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields. Stanley Novak is a first-generation Polish immigrant. Seeking a better life, he settles in Bakerton and finds work in the booming local mine. He meets and marries Rose, a shy, beautiful Italian girl. They move to a mine-owned house in an area of town known as Polish Hill, teeming with immigrants from all over Europe, all chasing the American Dream. Five children follow for the Novaks. The Novak children belong to what will someday be known as the Greatest Generation, but for now, they are just trying to find their identities in a vastly changing world. The five children could not be more different. The eldest, George, avoids signing up but is drafted to the Pacific when America joins the war. He comes home determined to leave Bakerton behind, but finds it much more difficult the second time around. Dorothy is a fragile and naive girl, who finds it hard to cope with her desk job in Washington. Joyce, fiercely intelligent, must hold the family together and remains bitterly aware of the life that she could have had.Sandy, the youngest boy, swans through life with his movie-star looks, never taking responsibility for his actions. And Lucy, the youngest, must find her own path in the shadow of her formidable siblings. Haigh gives us a beautiful snapshot of a small town -- of company houses and union squabbles; the boom and bust of the post-war years; the immigrant neighbourhoods of Swedetown, Little Italy and Polish Hill; the miners, undertakers, soldiers, firemen and housewives who populate the town and bring it to life.

Neues Buch Abebooks.de
The Book Depository, Guernsey, GY, United Kingdom [54837791] [Rating: 5]
NEW BOOK Versandkosten:Versandkostenfrei (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Baker Towers - Haigh, Jennifer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Haigh, Jennifer:
Baker Towers - Taschenbuch

2005

ISBN: 0007150873

Lieferbar binnen 4-6 Wochen Versandkosten:Versandkostenfrei innerhalb der BRD

ID: 9780007150878

Internationaler Buchtitel. In englischer Sprache. Verlag: HARPER COLLINS PAPERBACKS, L=24mm, B=129mm, H=197mm, Gew.=225gr, [GR: 11000 - HC/Belletristik], Kartoniert/Broschiert, Klappentext: From the author of "Mrs Kimble" comes an intimate portrait of love and family. Will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields. From the author of "Mrs Kimble" comes an intimate portrait of love and family. Will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields.

Neues Buch DEU
Buchgeier.com
Lieferbar binnen 4-6 Wochen (Besorgungstitel) Versandkosten:Versandkostenfrei innerhalb der BRD
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.
Baker Towers - Haigh, Jennifer
Vergriffenes Buch, derzeit bei uns nicht verfügbar.
(*)
Haigh, Jennifer:
Baker Towers - gebunden oder broschiert

2005, ISBN: 9780007150878

ID: _mp_used13735432

Haigh, Jennifer (Auteur) - Paru le 01/04/2005 Livre, [PU: William Collins; HarperCollins]

gebrauchtes bzw. antiquarisches Buch Fnac.com
Nr. 13735432 Versandkosten:Etat correct, 1, Lieferung nach Frankreich (EUR 3.49)
Details...
(*) Derzeit vergriffen bedeutet, dass dieser Titel momentan auf keiner der angeschlossenen Plattform verfügbar ist.

< zum Suchergebnis...
Details zum Buch
Baker Towers
Autor:

Haigh, Jennifer

Titel:

Baker Towers

ISBN-Nummer:

0007150873

From the author of "Mrs Kimble" comes an intimate portrait of love and family. Will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields.

Detailangaben zum Buch - Baker Towers


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780007150878
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0007150873
Gebundene Ausgabe
Taschenbuch
Erscheinungsjahr: 2005
Herausgeber: HARPER COLLINS PAPERBACKS
Gewicht: 0,225 kg
Sprache: eng/Englisch

Buch in der Datenbank seit 22.06.2007 01:58:12
Buch zuletzt gefunden am 25.10.2016 12:52:48
ISBN/EAN: 0007150873

ISBN - alternative Schreibweisen:
0-00-715087-3, 978-0-00-715087-8

< zum Suchergebnis...
< zum Archiv...
Benachbarte Bücher